World Cup Commercials: Team by Team

Posted: May 25, 2010 in Media, Sports
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

While not all of these are official commercials, they all highlight specific teams, and have their own unique feel. There will probably be more popping up in the next few weeks that will be better, but I wanted to add in my thoughts on each one, please feel free to discuss your opinions on which are good and which are absolutely bad. Enjoy!

USA

Weak. A weird jingle that sounds like it came from a World War 2 advertisement. “Over there” is South Africa last I checked. It just doesn’t work for me. It doesn’t make us look scary at all and its hard to get a crowd of fans to sing it without sounding like tools. Sorry, just not my cup of tea.

England

Much better. It is all about the country. It is about joining the immortals. History is the name of the game. Sadly this is what England has that the USA doesn’t so maybe I should be cutting them a little slack. Just a great commercial. The lion is kinda weird at the end, but I could get behind England from this commercial if I was a neutral party.

Brazil

When you are the top soccer team in the world, you can get away with doing stupid things. While this isn’t the serious type commercial, nor does it make me scared of the Brazilians, it adds some life to the team. These international players are more popular than most American athletes so marketing themselves is something they have done pretty well. I don’t look down on Robinho for doing a Beyonce dance. It gives him some depth.

Netherlands

Picture this same commercial with American players. While it would still be kinda badass, I don’t think it would have the same effect. The Dutch squad is really good and the whole “writing on the walls” is perfect for a team like them. This might be my favorite of the group.

Korea

This popped up when I searched for team advertisements, there isn’t much to it, but I think for a country that is growing quickly on the international sports scene, this is pretty good. Seeing the little kid celebrating and one of the country’s heroes also being involved in Park Ji-Sung is definitely an image their fans can rally behind.

New Zealand

While the whole “All-Whites” name has some weird connotations, I like the “White Noise” song. I don’t think its enough to be considered a national commercial, just something hyping the squad for local television. Pretty good though.

-So what do you all think? Do you like the American ad? How would people react if the Americans used the Brazilian method?

Comments
  1. Heh am I really the first comment to this great read?!

Leave a comment